“Sword of Damocles”?

“Cicero  is credited with telling the tale in his Tusculan Disputations. The story is based on a legend about the Syracusan tyrant Dionysius II and the fawning Damocles, who called Dionysius the most fortunate person ever. Dionysius offered him the opportunity to try out his lucky life, and Damocles readily agreed. Amid all the gold and luxuries that Damocles could enjoy, there was a sharp sword hanging from a slender thread (and in imminent danger of dropping) above Damocles’ head. Damocles quickly wished to go back to his less fortunate life.”( , About.com Guide)

   Well, that the story but the phrase has come to mean to me at any rate, a feeling of impending doom or tragedy  and the “proverbial sword seems to be hanging over my head right now. Now I know that some will say oh you’re just depressed but I’m not or some will say you’re just a drama queen wanting attention,trust me, I get plenty of attention and drama is a part of life, because life is messy. One would have to be a control freak of immense proportions to completely weed out drama in their life and I’m just not that much in control of my life, much less of the people around me whose lives intersect with mine on a regular basis and I would never want to be. It would be like the legend of the Dutch boy sticking his finger in the dike to stop one leak, in my case, after all ten fingers and ten toes and one large nose had been utilized, I’d be in big trouble and so would the people around me.  So, here I am and the feeling that something somewhere is just not right in my world just won’t completely go away but until it rears its ugly head, I shall endeavor to carry on and take care of the things I can have an effect on like laundry and dishes and the occasional dirty diaper(little man has produced two so far this morning, Amy says he likes a dry clean canvas for his “art”!) and writing through yet another bout of writer’s block. 

        Well you try tripping into the woods with a bunny rabbit, a possum and twin owls and see what happens to your creative writing streak. For some reason, my idea stream just dried up and I have learned when that happens to me, to drop that project and go on to something else because doggedly plugging away just gets me more and more frustrated and since these stories will ultimately be for my enjoyment(seriously doubt publication will happen),I’ve got time, I can afford to wait it out. perhaps this is a story that needs Spring to happen in order for me to glean inspiration from actually being out in the woods (no, I am not taking those animals into the woods for real,can you see me with a possum??) and there is now this blog to enable me to download my thoughts and inspirations and ….DRAMA.. for some to read and ponder over. Image

Just thought I’d throw in  a picture of Aidan who looks like he has his own”sword” hanging over his head but also because he’s my grandson and he was so cute back then. Smart little guy then and now. Well, I hear my current little man stirring, looks like nap time is over  and it’s back to work!!!

 

Leave a comment