Lesson learned,yet again

ImageI had to learn another lesson today which life has been trying to teach me for a long time but as always, I absorb the lesson and then go along my way, thinking I have learned not to make that particular mistake  only to find that I have gone and done it again. What possible mistake could I have made that  so upset me that I actually physically cried? I expected too much from my fellow man, I forgot that I wasn’t “allowed ” to ever make a single mistake in trying to attempt anything like making a point or publishing a photo which I might add, most,if not all of my blogs are published with pictures that I did indeed make on my camera. A couple may not be , I do believe the sailboat is borrowed and will  most likely be replaced as it wasn’t the original inspiration for the poem which I wrote . That ship only sails in my imagination and as I am not an artist like some,will stay there.Those who leaped to criticize couldn’t understand why their written words so upset me,well, perhaps it was because they seemed to only zero in on my mistakes(I mislabeled a dragonfly as a butterfly,how dare I ,must mean I am stupid!) or criticized a picture that while not of the highest photographic talent or quality, was ,in fact, made by me and I was using it to make a point which ,flawed as it might seem to some, made sense to me. I stopped ,while on a trek to make pictures , to take a picture of a train track, because I like what I saw through my viewfinder and caught a dragonfly/damselfly alighting on a shiny silver rail. Yes ,it was a beautiful color and I did see that through my eyes but the original photo really wasn’t just about the bug, there were other colors and textures in the photo that I liked and wanted to capture. I was simply trying ,with my earlier blog and picture to point out how we all (and I did include myself!)sometimes overlook small and beautiful things right in front of our faces . I am a rank amateur when it comes to writing and photography but does that mean I shouldn’t even try? Perhaps the term professional will never be applied to me and if it doesn’t, oh well, I have succeeded at other things in my life  .I have grown used to failure in a lot of things,failing to grow a really tough skin to protect against criticism is a biggie but the question begs to be asked ,”Would you really want to even know me if I did?” Trust me, you wouldn’t so I will go back to writing just for me and taking bad pictures simply because I liked what I saw through my camera lens  and while I will continue having an opinion. I will try to be more careful to remember that some people don’t think I should be allowed that and will attempt to figuratively smack me down for expressing such opinion and ,perhaps, making errors or mistakes in doing so.The picture above ,yes I did take it and some ask why did I take a picture of a rock in a stream. If you can’t figure that out for yourself,if looking at the photo and thinking doesn’t reveal why I took it, I will not open myself up to destructive criticism by mistakenly trying to tell you

Leave a Reply

