Show me the way

Image When the eyes start to fail, whether it is due to age,accident or in my Uncle Vance’s case, macular degeneration, guidance must be given. Now this wonderful dog named “Dutch” was an exceptional guide dog and for years around Calhoun, he could be seen carefully guiding my uncle on his  walks,keeping him from straying off the safe path to Burger King or where ever my uncle was bent on going that day. He did such a good job for my uncle that Uncle Vance  lived into his nineties . Now as much as my uncle loved Dutch , I’m quite sure he would have rather had Dutch as just a much loved pet and had full use of both his eyes but the reality was he needed guidance and Dutch did just that. There have been times in my life that I wished I had had a guide like Dutch. No, I haven’t wished myself blind in reality but there have been times when I have wished I could have closed my eyes and not seen what I saw and just held on to a safe handle till the guide on the other end guided me safely to the other side of whatever horrible thing or danger threatened me. Oh I have had guidance all my life from the people in my life, I’ve been guided by God  but there have been times I think I would have appreciated Him manifesting as a sweet loving furry friend who always knew which way I should step or turn so as to keep me safe and out of trouble. That inner voice ,that gut instinct that told me the right thing to do ,well since it wasn’t visible to others,I let them tell me they knew better than I for whatever reason but those occasions always led to disaster and that is my fault. I knew better,but I didn’t stand up for what I believed to be right. Well I finally stood up and haven’t backed down  and the outcome hasn’t changed but I am tired of being told I’m wrong when I know I’m right. I’m not often right, I am just as flawed and subject to mistakes as anybody else but this time , my little voice says to stand my ground and I shall. If you read and understand, well thank you and if you don’t ,well, that’s par for the course ,I’ll survive, I always have.

Leave a Reply

